Energy Safety Canada announces new board chair and appointment of new directors

June 23, 2022

Energy Safety Canada (ESC) is pleased to announce the appointment of Steve Reynish as Chair of the Board of Directors following the retirement of John Rhind, who has served as Board Chair since 2019.

Mr. Rhind joined the Board of Directors in September 2018, having served previously as the initial CEO of ESC upon the merger of Enform Canada and Oil Sands Safety Association in 2017. Mr. Rhind was instrumental in developing the strategy and architecture for ESC and was key in overseeing the change process with the merger.

“John’s contributions to ESC and the industry are significant and meaningful,” said Murray Elliott, President and CEO. “His extensive knowledge and experience helped guide the organization through challenging times. I appreciate John’s service to ESC and wish him and his family all the best.”

“I feel privileged to take on the role of Chair for ESC’s Board of Directors,” said Mr. Reynish, who has been a member of the Board since 2019. “I also want to thank John for his leadership and collaboration. He will be missed, and I am deeply grateful for his service.”

Mr. Reynish, a seasoned industry executive, is currently the President and CEO of Enlighten Innovations, a private clean energy technology company. Before Enlighten, Mr. Reynish served as Executive Vice President at Suncor Energy where he played a key role in the company’s strategic, environmental, social, governance and corporate development initiatives.

“Steve’s long history of leadership, together with his experience, make him ideal for this role. I look forward to working with him to continue strengthening ESC’s ability to drive improved safe work performance,” said Mr. Elliott.

ESC is also pleased to announce three new directors: Lisa Baiton, President and CEO of the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers; Kevin Krausert, CEO and Co-Founder of Avatar Innovations; and Laura J. Sayavedra, Senior Vice President, Projects, Safety & Reliability and ERP with Enbridge. Céline Gerson, Group Director Americas, Fugro was re-elected for a second three-year term.

ESC’s Board brings deep expertise to guide ESC in achieving its mission to help workers get home safe every day. Through education, resources and industry engagement, ESC continues to mobilize industry to advance safety outcomes.

About Energy Safety Canada
ESC is the national safety association for the energy industry. With roots dating back to 1949, we work side by side with industry to drive safe work performance through ready-made resources and accessible training.